Cycling Scotland – Lochearnhead and Glen Ogle…

Between Strathyre and Killin and to the north of Callander lies a bike trail that despite lochearn from the glen ogle cycle pathbeing short, ranks among the best rides I’ve done. A walk along here a few years ago actually prompted me to take up cycling again after a ten year absence due to busy roads though it was only recently that I finally got to ride it. As well as being a section of the Rob Roy Way, this trail is part of a much longer National Cycle Network route linking Glasgow and Inverness with this ride being from Strathyre up over the viaducts to the Glen Ogle car park on the forested ridge just south of Killin. As with my West Highland Way outing I had to do this in both directions but I’m not complaining there.

The rain was just about holding off as I left Strathyre; just after the bridge a bike track led northwards beside the river…

Continue reading >>>

About Pete Buckley

I'm Pete Buckley the UK based indie author of "The Colonel of Krasnoyarsk" a high speed adventure thriller in which the reader is introduced to Russian Agent Colonel Yuri Medev and Jim Bergman of the FBI who must overcome political differences and work together to defeat a dangerous enemy - perhaps some of our politicians should read it to find out how. I have just finished the next Yuri Medev adventure entitled "The Kirov Conspiracy" due for release soon, while previously I wrote a couple of travel stories about various wonderful places such as New Zealand and the Swiss Alps. Aside from writing, travel has always been a big inspiration with hiking, biking and the outdoors taking up much of my time when I'm not looking after the kids. Thanks for visiting.
This entry was posted in biking, Scotland and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Cycling Scotland – Lochearnhead and Glen Ogle…

Leave a Reply

