An Adventure in the Rocky Mountains of Colorado…

Part 1 – Maroon Lake and Quandary Peak

maroon bells near aspen colorado

A few years ago I spent some time wandering around the Rocky Mountains of Colorado generally exploring and climbing a few peaks. The picture shows the Maroon Bells from Maroon Lake near Aspen which was the start point of one of the hikes I did. The photos were taken on a cheap camera so while the views were awesome, the quality wasn’t but the highlights of the trip are all there to read about…

There is something rather surreal about sitting at breakfast and watching people dressed in breathing masks and carrying cylinders of oxygen as they butter their slices of toast and pour their coffee as though they are about to set out for Everest. My hotel by Colorado’s Lake Dillon though is at 9100 feet above sea level which is twice the height of Ben Nevis or about level with Eigerwand Station on the Jungfrau and a fair height to arrive at by car without the benefit of any exercise on the way up. After these men in masks came the raiders – those who had already had breakfast but had returned with doggie bags to fill with more food for the day ahead. If it’s free why not I thought – and picked up a banana and a couple of apples for later.

That day – which had dawned fine – I was bound for Glenwood Canyon which I’d been told was well worth seeing and much nearer than the Grand Canyon which would have taken a full day just to get to. Distances in America are in a different league to those back home with a hundred mile trip being “just down the road” and I knew that if I set off down Interstate70 I wasn’t going to be sat in traffic jams for half the distance. I also planned – if time permitted to see the Maroon Bells – two spectacular mountains of just over 14000 feet which are close to the ski resort of Aspen some distance to the West of here…

Continue reading >>>

About Pete Buckley

I'm Pete Buckley the UK based indie author of "The Colonel of Krasnoyarsk" a high speed adventure thriller in which the reader is introduced to Russian Agent Colonel Yuri Medev and Jim Bergman of the FBI who must overcome political differences and work together to defeat a dangerous enemy - perhaps some of our politicians should read it to find out how. I have just finished the next Yuri Medev adventure entitled "The Kirov Conspiracy" due for release soon, while previously I wrote a couple of travel stories about various wonderful places such as New Zealand and the Swiss Alps. Aside from writing, travel has always been a big inspiration with hiking, biking and the outdoors taking up much of my time when I'm not looking after the kids. Thanks for visiting.
This entry was posted in travel, writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to An Adventure in the Rocky Mountains of Colorado…

  1. MikeP says:

    I will tell you this… your writing is stellar. Each time I read one of your blogs its as if I am there!!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

